Minor Arcana Tarot Cards


Whereas the Major Arcana represent the archetypical energies, universal truths about human existence, the Minor Arcana deal with short-lived events, challenges and successes that we experience in our everyday life.

Out of 78 Tarot cards, 56 belong to the 4 suits of Minor Arcana: Wands, Cups, Pentacles and Swords. Each of the suits represents different areas in our lives and can manifest itself through events, as well as feelings, thoughts or perceptions.

Card Suit
Swords Air thoughts, ideas, intellect
Wands Fire action, energy, movement
Cups Water feelings, emotions, spirituality
Pentacles Earth work, finances, practicality

Minor Arcana closely resemble the popular playing cards, as each consists of ten numbered cards from Ace to 10, as well as 4 court cards: page, knight, queen and king. The numbered cards go through natural stages of growth and development, from the first feelings of love in Ace of Cups to the security and fulfillment of the family in 10 of Cups, from the concept of a project in Ace of Pentacles, to accumulated wealth passed down through generations in 10 of Pentacles, and so on. In order to fully understand the meaning of each card, it is important to notice what is its place in the sequence of the whole suit.


List of Minor Arcana Tarot Cards

Click on each Tarot card below
to find out more about its Tarot card meaning.

Ace of Swords Ace of Wands Ace of Cups Ace of Pentacles
2 of Swords 2 of Wands 2 of Cups 2 of Pentacles
3 of Swords 3 of Wands 3 of Cups 3 of Pentacles
4 of Swords 4 of Wands 4 of Cups 4 of Pentacles
5 of Swords 5 of Wands 5 of Cups 5 of Pentacles
6 of Swords 6 of Wands 6 of Cups 6 of Pentacles
7 of Swords 7 of Wands 7 of Cups 7 of Pentacles
8 of Swords 8 of Wands 8 of Cups 8 of Pentacles
9 of Swords 9 of Wands 9 of Cups 9 of Pentacles
10 of Swords 10 of Wands 10 of Cups 10 of Pentacles